jew cookies: crouching apricot, hidden boysenberry

March 22, 2009 at 11:04 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

When I was a wee lass, the temple ladies came by every Purim with these cookies. Hamantaschen are cunningly folded to resemble an evil king’s tri-corner hat, and Purim is cunningly designed to be a giant Jew-party where folk exchange cookies and put on plays. This is the very finest kind of holiday!

This year, nostalgia and my boyfriend’s lack of exposure inspired me to bake hamataschen. Last time I did this, there were a dozen of us preschoolers in the temple kitchen mauling dough and eating batter. I expected only disaster from a solo attempt, and lo, was disappointed when only two cookies unfolded in the oven and spilt their sticky innards. (those were eaten before anyone else saw ’em.)

I took a recipe from Judaism 101 & used the super cheap fillings my just-finished-grad-school budget demands: apricot and boysenberry jam; a gifted golden raspberry jam; and peanut butter (oddly pleasing!). Though tasty, crafting ’em was more fun than eating.

hamantaschen

Leave a comment